top of page

LIFE. BUSINESS. PERSONAL.

THE DIARY OF JAS

  • Writer's pictureJas

Booth, Bricks, Mobile?

Updated: Jun 12, 2018

MOOD: Ambitious

DAY 2: 11 JUNE 2018


 

Lately, I've been thinking a lot about what exactly I want to do with my brand.


Well.. to start, let's take a look at the 7 wonders I have done with @slaaaystudio:

1. created this beautiful site (still a working progress & forever will be)


2. started a large clientele at VCU & also quite a few in other states


3. at one point I passed out flyers.. but then I got lazy - I will be doing this again very soon


4. started my own hair extension & edge control line - also had my very first photoshoot, which was quite an experience.. I definitely know what to do differently the next go round


5. I created this beautiful logo (that currently has a green question mark.. I'll explain in a minute) from scratch, it started with pencil & paper then developed into my most precious piece


6. I put some respect on my name and legalized Slaaay Studio LLC


7. I turned the living room of my first apartment into my first "mini" salon

So while I'm personally getting myself in order, it's time I get my business in order as well. I'm torn in what I want to do altogether. One part of me wants to work with this local salon (I'm not going to mention any names, let's just call it/the owner, "Booth"). Okay, a part of me wants to spend my daylight hours at Booth. Now what's stopping me is the conflicting idea that Booth and I have about what exactly I want to do there.

Let me break it down...


I initially reached out to Booth, whom I was introduced to by the mom of a boy I used to know... (I don't use the term 'ex-' cause I don't like the idea of people being tied to me forever lol I'm weird. I know...) THAT is another story too, but we will save that hot tea for a winter day. Anyway, I reached out to her asking if I could spend time in her shop as a mentee, to learn how to make medical wigs for clients who deal with severe hair loss.


She responded. Connection was made. Now time for the Sit Down; it was set for 10am on that Tuesday.


Mind you, I work overnight at a call center from 10pm-6:30am... yeah it was bad. I looked bad. I wasn't dressed or prepared to meet this woman but I did anyway. Here's where the conflict comes to play. I asked for her to mentor me and teach me how to make the wigs. That turned into her wanting me to work in Booth as a "stylist/marketer" for 2 years 50% commission. Then after 2 years, I will have the option to switch to rent $150/week.


T W O Y E A R S 5 0 % C O M M I S S I O N ?


I can't do it. I cannot do myself like that when I know the amount of money I have the capability of making in as little as 6 months. I could not sign myself over to another salon for 2 years. Especially when Booth told me I couldn't sell my products anymore. You know what's crazy though? I still accepted her offer for that chair and showed up again the next day... looking even worse.


At this point I was running off of 24hrs+ no sleep.


This is where I really started to get that gut feeling about Booth. When I accepted the offer, she told me to bring all my photo equipment because we were going to get a head start on our social media marketing, which I was all hyped for but I was so tired that I forgot to pack all the stuff in my car. Anyway, I got there and she was at her computer...


I then thought she was going to show me the business side of Booth because she said we would do that as well...


Nope. She was on wix.com purchasing a site plan, and since she saw that I created slaaaystudio.com all on my own, she expected me sit down and create a website for Booth. No, Booth. That is not why I'm here, Booth. I'm here to learn how to make medical wigs, Booth. Not a website for Booth's Medical Wigs, Booth.


*sigh*


I was disappointed because I really wanted to give Booth a shot, but I also made a promise to myself & Slaaay Studio that I will never work for another salon ever again. I made that promise based on a past negative experience that could've cost me everything.


I can't go back. I've been back far enough. It's time I push forward.


I took this short experience as a sign from God. I guess I could've helped Booth with her website, but at the same time... do you honestly know how long it takes to create a functioning website? It has taken me over a year and I still don't know what half this stuff means lol. I just can't put myself in another position where I'm spending too much time on things that are not beneficial to me. She loved talking about how much money she makes doing hair... I'm sorry, please pay a professional to do your website. Again, I'm just here to make the wigs.


With that being said lol my logo is currently pictured with a green question mark because I'm questioning its official face.


Green because its good to question things... and green is good, right?


I'm trying to figure out what kind of salon I want to have. And by kind I mean:


Brick & Mortar vs Mobile Salon


I'm so torn between the two. Half of me wants a chain of Slaaay Studios, and the other half wants a line of mobile hair salons. Or maybe I should just have a mixture of both? Idk. Whatever I choose, it will be amazing. The essential plan is to come up with 3 business plans: The Shop, The Wheels, The Shop + The Wheels. After that, things will fall into place as they should.


I remember when I told this one girl, who was supposed to be a real friend, my dreams of having a tiny mobile salon and she laughed in my face.

I wonder if she gon' laugh when she see it on all her screens.


In order to make any of these 3 plans come true, I first have to build my gallery and expand my clientele. It will take a lot of work, but I did it once and I can do it again.


Motivation & Determination


P.S. I have no clue how to write a business plan, but I'm about to google and figure it out! If I find a worthy article, I'll include it here.



 

Sit Down - Kevin Gates



38 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

 Copyright Slaaay STUDIO 2018. All Rights Reserved.

©
bottom of page